Why I Love Helping Others

Having grownup in a home controlled by alcoholism, I was able to see my addiction very early into the disease. Thanksgiving,  1976, I told my family that I thought I was an alcoholic. I fully expected everyone to disagree with me because I had not had any outward signs. But, my mother said that she had been afraid of that. So I was stuck with the admission and being the “perfect daughter”, I never drank again and went to AA.

My third month into recovery, I had a radical conversion as described by William James in his The Varieties of Religious Experience. It was instant and I call it ‘”the moment that changed my life.” So I have been trying since 1977 to hear what god’s will is for my life. Many days I have followed my will and called it His. But there has been progress, too.

In June, 2009, my husband left me for another woman and they live down the street together. Without God and His followers, I could not have been able to pick up my life and move on. But I now have a need to support myself as my Social Security isn’t enough.

I have been writing on blogs for five years mainly about my spiritual journey which I call recovery. My original blog became so large that I have 6 blogs which each have a single main topic. I have about 30 blogs as I did several to help others learn how to do blogs. I have put all my online work on a separate page.

I always believed that I would make money with my writing. But that hasn’t happened. There are 20,000,000 blogs now. The writing field online is glutted with other writers due to so many looking for any kind of work. There also is so much competition for other countries with writers who work for $1-$2 per article. Each article takes about 1-1 1/2 hours to write.

So, my purpose with this letter is to introduce myself and to see if you know any employment as a speaker/trainer about recovery. I have included a separate list of possible ways that I help people.

The main reason that I love helping others is because we are each born with a core of goodness from birth. I also believe that this core contains our creativity which is the source of our joy. I also believe that helping anyone find this creativity is the answer to awakening others to the beauty of himself/herself. Finally, I believe maturity is returning to the joyful, playful child that God created.

Leave a Reply

